Page 1 of 21 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Let There Be Light

Two23 Guest

Default Let There Be Light

I've long been toying with the idea of buying a few radio slaves and going after some night shots with my flash units. I always held off, partly because of the cost and partly because it's a lot of work. Now that it's getting dark earlier and the trains are only running at night on my busiest line (due to MoW work), I finally bought the stuff. I'll go into detail what I bought later.

While I bought the radio slaves for use at night, yesterday I found a use for them in daytime too. They are very flexible. I used two to light up the inside of these plastic coils and one was used to light the train with a little fill flash. This is my first attempt at this shot and the light isn't as even as I wanted. I might have to shoot the lights into a reflector. I also might climb into the coils and shoot with a wider lens to get more of the engine. I think it's kind of an interesting shot so I will continue to work on it. It has to be done in morning because of light direction, and it's about 45 minutes from home in an area I don't cover for my sales job. I think it has promse though, so I'll keep fine tuning it. This was taken along the BNSF line in Sioux Center, IA, a county seat farming community.

Nikon D80, Nikon 18-55mm,
    SB-25, SB-28, SB-800 flash
    Elinchrom Universal slaves
    tripod

Kent in SD
    Last edited by Two23; 09-24-2007 at 12:39 AM. Reason: better photo

Two23 Guest